Music that spans the world with City of Peterborough Symphony Orchestra

Ely36_Classical guitar soloist Amanda Cook

Ely36_Classical guitar soloist Amanda Cook - Credit: Archant

The City of Peterborough Symphony Orchestra starts its 26th season on October 16 with an afternoon concert led by guitar queen with a silken touch, Amanda Cook.

“It spans the world from Brazil to Austria via sunny Spain with the inspiring maestro, Steve Bingham, and in the company of the brilliant prizewinning virtuoso guest guitarist, Amanda Cook,” say promoters.

“The programme begins with Heltor Villa-Lobus’ Sinfonietta No 1 in as an affectionate tribute to admired composer Mozart, mixing a classical clarity with the quirkiness that you would expect from this famous Brazilian composer.

“Onwards to the gardens of the Palacio Real de Aranguez, south of Madrid, for the unforgettable and immensely popular Guitar Concerto by Joaquim Rodrigo.

“Finally, the orchestra embraces Schubert’s mighty Symphony No 9. Known as “The Great C Major Symphony” this is truly one of the greatest symphonies ever written.”

The concert takes place from 3pm to 5pm.

Tickets are £12.50 and £10.50 (concessions), with children under 16 admitted for free.

Most Read

To book, visit