Yearn clinches 12th championships

PUBLISHED: 11:29 22 July 2011

Casey Gutteridge, CPG Photography

ELY City Golf Club’s Lee Yearn clinched victory at the club’s annual championships for an unprecedented 12th time.

Yearn was once again on top form to clinch the win in the club’s premier competition, shooting a gross total of 139 to come home comfortably clear of runner up Luke Ryan, who carded 150.

The 36-hole competition, held on July 10, was split into two sections, scratch and handicap, with the lowest gross score securing the championship.

All those participating had either qualified through being single figure handicap players or by scoring a net 74 or better in the preceding qualifying rounds.

The handicap section was won by Ed Webster shooting a net 70 in the morning and an outstanding net 64 in the afternoon, a total score of 134, runner up was Gyles Peacock with a net 138 beating Kevin Peacock on count back. Ed started the day off with an 11 handicap and ended up as a single figure player.

Yearn congratulated green staff and organisers for the success of the event after he was awarded the championship shield by club captain Keith Whiting Lee.

Full Results:

Club champion: Lee Yearn 139 (68 + 71)

Runner up: Luke Ryan 150 (75 + 75)

Third: Terry Ryan 152 (78 + 74)

Fourth: Chris Nixon 152 cb (74 + 78)

Handicap section

Handicap champion: Ed Webster 134 (70 + 64)

Runner Up: Giles Peacock 138 cb (68 + 70)

Third: Kevin Peacock 138 (68 + 70)

Fourth: Neil Bronson 139 (70 + 69)

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Ely Standard. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Ely Standard