Skipper wins hotly contested Ely and District CC 25 mile time trial

Joe Skipper.

Joe Skipper. - Credit: Archant

Seventy riders pushed themselves to the limit at Ely & District CC/JT Cycles Hardriders 25 mile time trial.

Ian Turner

Ian Turner - Credit: Archant

Rock Estate’s Joe Skipper posted the quickest time of the day (56.18).

The first Ely rider was Matt Eley who, despite feeling the effects of a illness bug on the day, finished sixth (58.42).

Cambridge CC’s Lucy Gossage (1.05.04) took the ladies prize, while Team Pedal Revolution (Andrew Bean, Nick Esser and Lewis Stevens) took the team award.

Result - Top 10: 1. Joe Skipper, Rock Estate 56.18; 2. Ian Turner, St Neots CC 56.35; 3. Christophe Demoulin, Bonito Squadra Course 56.49; 4. Peter Cocker, Pedalpushers 57.07; 5. Andrew Bean, Team Pedal Revolution 58.41; 6. Mathew Eley, Ely & District CC 58.42; 7. Geoff Frost, Team 59.54; 8. Max Sahota, St Ives CC 59.54; 9. Anthony Collier, Hoddesden Tri Club 59.59; 10. Trevor Kaley, Plomesgate CC 1.00.07; 10. Nic Pillinger, St Neots CC 1.00.07.

You may also want to watch:

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter