Runners and riders honoured at cycle club’s awards night

ELY and District Cycling Club members celebrated the end of the club’s 2012 time trial season with their annual dinner and presentation night.

Tom Sykes was the most successful rider of the year picking up nine awards, including the 25 mile and circuit series trophies.

Laura Aldred retained her Ladies 10 Mile Series Trophy, with John McAndrew retaining the Mountain Bike Trophy.

Cliff Loveday and Andy Stephen were winners of the 2-Up Cup. Aiden Merry also collected three trophies on the night. Andy Darley was voted as clubman of the year.

The club continues with their Sunday club rides each week, leaving the Paradise Centre car park, in Ely, at 9am, weather permitting.

You may also want to watch:

The club also holds winter training sessions at Aldreth Village Hall every Tuesday night from 7pm. For more detail please contact the club via e-mail at:

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter