Records tumble at hotly contested time trial event

NO fewer than 12 course personal bests were smashed at the latest Ely & District Cycle Club 10-mile time trial.

An excellent turnout of 31 riders again provided for a competitive field, with a dozen riders taking advantage of the dry conditions to record new best times.

Long-standing Ely rider Celia Whitechurch recorded her best time on the course since 2009, stopping the clock at 29mins 14secs and winning the battle of the ladies on the night by beating Laura Aldred.

Matt Eley, who first rode the course last year in a time of 30mins 3secs came home in seventh with his course PB of 24mins 10secs, an amazing improvement in 18 months. Father and son duo Martin and Chris Brown had a close family battle, with Martin coming out on top in 24mins 41secs, with Chris in a PB time just 10 seconds behind. Jason Ward and Richard Winrow finished in equal 15th position, just dipping under the 26-minute mark, with Andrew Turton, riding the course for the first time, just missing out on beating the 26-minute mark by two seconds.


1st Lee Desborough 21.04 (CPB), 2nd Phil Peacock 22.22 (CPB), 3rd Nick Waterfall 22.24 (CPB), 4th Rory Havis 22.32 (CPB), 5th Tom Sykes 23.11, 6th Geoff Brewster 23.35 (CPB), 7th Matt Eley 24.10 (CPB), 8th Colin Whitechurch 24.29, 9th= Steve Presland and Dom Whitehead 24.38 (CPB), 11th Martin Brown 24.41, 12th Chris Brown 24.51 (CPB), 13th Martin Holland 25.29, 14th Graham Steven 25.46, 15th= Jason Ward (CPB) and Richard Winrow 25.54, 17th Andrew Turton 26.01, 18th= Dean Sheppard (CPB) and John Jermy 26.03, 20th Craig Ewing 26.40, 21st Dan Bromilow 26.46, 22nd Adam Taylor 26.51, 23rd Stuart Clarke 27.29, 24th Kevin Davies 27.38, 25th Daryl Pickering 27.39, 26th Will Sheppard 28.31 (CPB), 27th= Liam Walker (CPB) and Celia Whitechurch 29.14, 29th Laura Aldred 29.18, 30th Eddie Green 29.52, 31st Annabelle Graham 31.22