Kirkland Cup win for Pymoor

PYMOOR’S 45-year wait to reclaim the coveted Kirkland Cup was finally ended at the weekend.


Steve Saberton’s men produced some of their best cricket of the season so far to beat holders Witcham and Haddenham in a thrilling finals day on Sunday.

The win is Pymoor’s first in the competition since England lifted the World Cup back in 1966.

Batting ace Darren Ebbs said: “It was a great day and the first time we have won the cup for 45 years so a very special occasion.”

Vice chairman of the Kirkland Cup committee, said: “The day went very well. The wind managed to keep the rain away from us so we were quite lucky.”

In the first semi-final of the day Pymoor took holders Witcham and posted 159-4 from their 15 eight-ball overs.

Most Read

Lorens Herselman top scored with a masterful 87 that included 11 sixes. Witcham were unable to match Herselman’s heroics and were all out for 129.

In the second semi final, City of Ely were pitched against an in-form Haddenham outfit and could only post 107 from their spell in bat.

Chris Hughes (4-12) did much of the damage for Haddenham as Ely were restricted.

Geoff Buck hit 26 and Gary Thistlethwaite 38 as Haddenham reached 109 for the loss of just two wickets to book a place in the final.

In the showpiece match of the day, Haddenham batted first and posted 122-8 from their 15 overs.

Geoff Buck hit 33 with the bat, while Steve Saberton picked up 3-25 and Mark McClelland took 3-22.

The game was delicately poised after 13 overs of Pymoor’s innings as they had edged to 98-5, with John Hunt managing 24 and Nick Sabberton 23.

Chris Hughes (2-14) and Dillon Wass (2-17) had bowled superbly to keep the pressure on Pymoor in the closing stages but, with the penultimate ball of the match, Pymoor managed to reach their target. Steve Saberton finished on 16 not out and was later awarded the Frank Lythgall Award for man of the match.

The cup was presented to Pymoor by president of the cup committee Norman South.