Ivaylo and Tracey excel in Ely and District Table Tennis League tournament

The winners at this year's Ely and District Table Tennis League closed tournament.

The winners at this year's Ely and District Table Tennis League closed tournament. - Credit: Archant

Ivaylo Kostandinov and Tracey Sambrook were the big winners at this year’s Ely and District Table Tennis League closed tournament.

The duo experienced success in the Men’s Singles and the Ladies’ Singles respectively at the tournament at Burwell Community Sports Centre on Sunday April 17.

Back in the league, Soham 1 reduced the winning margin of Champions Ely 1 to just four points by taking their final tie 8-2.

Kostadinov scored a maximum for the visitors and was well supported by two each from Martin Freeland and Nathan Stewart who then joined forces to take the doubles over Kieran and Christian Mohan.

Kieran was Ely’s only winner with victories against Freeland and Stewart.

Impington 1 completed their fixtures with a 4-6 loss to Fulbourn 1 for whom Phil Hague scored a maximum. One each from Daniel Hearne-Potton and Jon Chapman added to Hague’s wins before Hague and Chapman were successful in a four-set doubles against Jeff Catlin and Colin Adams.

Earlier, Catlin and Adams scored two each by both beating Chapman and Hearne-Potton.

Most Read

Andy Merritt scored a maximum for Fulbourn 1 when they visited Elsworth 1 in the final league fixture of the current season.

Unfortunately, Peters Zivtins victory over Owen Davies was Fulbourn’s only other scorer leaving Elsworth the winners by 6-4.

Roger Fensom and Peter Goatly scored two each for Elsworth with Davies adding a further point before Fensom and Goatly won a hard-fought five-set doubles against Merritt and Marc Meunier.

Ely and District Table Tennis League closed tournament winners -

Mens Singles:

Winner: Ivaylo Kostandinov

R/up: Kieran Mohan

Mens Doubles:

Winner: Martin Freeland & Nathan Stewart

R/up: Ronald Cron & Marc Meunier

Ladies Singles:

Winner: Tracey Sambrook

R/up: Karen Byford

Ladies Doubles:

Winners: Tracey Sambrook & Karen Byford

R/up: Amy Catlin & Ena Catlin

Mixed Doubles:

Winners: Christian Mohan & Tracey Sambrook

R/up: Jeff Catlin & Ena Catlin

Junior Singles:

Winners: Alex Hearne-Potton

R/up: Joshua Curry

Junior Doubles:

Winners: Joshua Curry & Joe Holland

R/up: Alex Hearne-Potton & Ena Catlin

Veteran Singles:

Winner: Liam Mohan

R/up: Jeff Catlin

Over 50s Doubles:

Winners: Kin Choi Chan & Phil Morris

R/up: Liam Mohan & Peter Zivtins

Unseeded Doubles:

Winners: Phil Hague & Ju Young

R/up: Stephen Jugg & Marc Meunier

Handicap Singles:

Winner: Ena Catlin

R/up: Adam Curry

Regular Player Singles:

Winner: Adam Curry

R/up: Stephen Jugg