Club honours its top performers at season-ending awards

From left: Jack Knight, Chandler Stamford, Simon Leeks, Kirk Stamford, Clare Christan, Andrew Knight

From left: Jack Knight, Chandler Stamford, Simon Leeks, Kirk Stamford, Clare Christan, Andrew Knight, Eric Christan, Melanie Patrick, Andy Wilcox with baby Isaac, Alan White, Hannah Wilcox, Jamie Cammann and Suzie Sallis.. - Credit: Archant

Sailing Ely Sailing Club hosted its annual prize giving and laying up supper, on Saturday.

Club commodore, Andrew Wilcox welcomed more than 50 club members and guests to the club’s base, in Prickwillow Road.

Hannah Wilcox presented the prizes and Jill Sallis read out the winners. Along with the trophy the winners received an engraved salver and runner ups a pen.

Sophie Palmer presented Mrs Wilcox with a bouquet of flowers for presenting the prizes.

The club’s annual meeting takes place in the club house on Thursday, November 27, at 7.30pm.


Enterprise Quality Lincoln Cup – Kevin Bilham and the Enterprise Aggregate Kempton Bowl – Eric Christan.

Most Read

Solo Salver and the Solo Cup – Alan White.

Laser Quality Cup and Laser Aggregate Points Cup – Jack Knight.

Topper Class Aggregate Points Cup- Kirk Stamford with Mike Williams Runner Up.

Handicap Trophies:-

Spring Handicap Tankard – Gary Ungless.

Summer Handicap Tankard and Paige Jewellery Sponsored Trophy :- Chandler Stamford.

August Mini Handicap Tankard :- Jack Knight

Autumn Handicap Tankard:- Alan White.

Chandler Stamford also won the Thurmott Shield , Norman Brettell Cup and Thursday Evening Shield for accumulated handicap points.

Jack Knight with Mollie Lee as crew won the Cadet Trophy and the Pursuit Race Trophy.

Easter Egg Trophy - Simon Leeks, Camweld Trophy - Kevin Bilham, Whitsun Trophy - Kevin Bilham.

Ladies Plate – Alayne Seymour, Bob Utteridge Trophy for the Husband and Wife race – Eric and Clare Christan.

Roswell Monster Trophy Chandler Stamford and Baby Monster for first Crew Jamie Cammann. George Washington Trophy - Chandler Stamford.

Jamie Butcher Memorial Trophy - Simon Leeks.

Trophies awarded by the Committee.

Dr. K.S. Maurice Smith Memorial Trophy for Crewing – Jamie Cammann.

Ships Wheel for most improved helm – Melanie Patrick.

Junior Ships Wheel - Kirk Stamford.

Ernie Wootton Trophy for clubmanship – Hannah Wilcox.

King Duck – Andy Wilcox.

Travellers Trophy – Suzie Sallis.

Winter and Summer Radio Controlled Model Yacht Trophies - Alan White with Graham Tory and John Tebb the runners up award respectively.

The Saturday Sailing Award – Mark Divall.