Viva Theatre celebrates a year of success

Becky Bush, set to star as Nancy in Viva's production of Oliver.

Becky Bush, set to star as Nancy in Viva's production of Oliver. - Credit: Archant

Viva Arts and Community Group celebrated another barnstorming year at its annual awards and prize-giving ceremony.

The trustees, patrons and presidents of Viva.

The trustees, patrons and presidents of Viva. - Credit: Archant

The evening saw more than 200 friends, members, trustees, patrons and presidents of the group come together at The Brook, in Soham, to honour the successes of the past 12 months, as well as the top performers.

The audience were treated to performances from Viva Theatre Company’s production of Acorn Antiques plus a solo recital from Becky Bush, who will be playing Nancy in the next Viva Youth production of Oliver.

The evening ended with a disco for members, volunteers and supporters.

Viva's volunteers and production teams.

Viva's volunteers and production teams. - Credit: Archant

Among the winners on the night were Sammy Williams, who won the award for leadership; David Tickner, who the best actor award, and Charlie Gillett, who won the Viva Youth Theatre member of the year award.

You may also want to watch:

Dan Schumann, founder of Viva, said: “The awards is always a special time for Viva as we all come together to celebrate what has been achieved in the year gone by. “Picking winners is always such a hard job as everyone in Viva deserves one for the hard work they do.”

Viva is looking forward to the year ahead, which will include performances of Oliver! at The Brook, in Soham, in March. The cast will also be performing at The Shaw Theatre in London’s West End.

This year's Viva award winners

This year's Viva award winners - Credit: Archant

Most Read


The Viva Youth Theatre Trustees Award for Leadership - Sammy Williams

The Harvey Prize for Best Ensemble Performance - Matt Buzer

Josh Schumann The Show must go on Award - Oliver Squires

The Angela Bocking Shield for Musicianship - Lili Borde

Brackenridge Prize for Dance - Madison Eddy

Sir John Baird Award for Young Actor of the Year - Charlie Ellerton

Lady Baird Award for Young Singer of the Year - Ellie Bovingdon

The Liza Goddard Youth Comedy Performance Award - Aaron Lord

Vivienne Smart Junior Member of the Year Award - Lars Carr

Ruth Francis Award for Special Contribution to Viva Youth Theatre - Jack Wright

Dan Schumann Shield for Dedication and Commitment - Ben Clark

The James and Ava Paice Best Actor Award - David Tickner

The Ann Tuite Best Actress Award - Mary Barnes

Robert and Lisa Barnes Best Supporting Actress Award - Kerry Hibbert

The Michael Fenton Stevens Best Supporting Actor Award - David Moat

The Viva Theatre Company Member of the Year Award - Sarah Dowd-Crosby

The Thompson and White Backstage Award - Kate Taylor

Stella Award - Antony Powell

The Sheila Steafel Comedy Award for Viva Theatre Company - Lee Sherwood

The Unsung Hero Award - Emma Moat

Anastasia Billinge Award for Viva Youth Theatre Member of the Year - Charlie Gillett

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus