South Cambs District Council elections: Lib Dems take overall control from Conservatives

The Liberal Democrats have gained overall control of South Cambs District Council.

The Liberal Democrats have gained overall control of South Cambs District Council. - Credit: Archant

The Liberal Democrats have taken overall control of South Cambridgeshire District Council after they beat the reigning Conservatives.

All of South Cambs District Council’s seats were up for election yesterday, under 26 newly-revised wards which came into effect after a shake-up by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

The Liberal Democrats now have 30 councillors, the Conservatives have 11, Labour have two, and there are two independents.

The new setup meant there were less seats up for grabs than in the last election in 2016 – 45 instead of 57.

The new-look wards for the South Cambs villages near Royston include Barrington ward – formerly Orwell and Barrington – which now includes the Eversdens as well as Orwell, Wimpole and Barrington. This went to Lib Dem Aidan Van de Weyer, who retained his place on the council, having held the seat in its previous guise.

The Mordens ward now also includes Arrington and Croydon – which used to come under Gamlingay – along with Abington Pigotts, Guilden Morden, Odsey, Shingay, Wendy, Steeple Morden, Tadlow, Hatley St George, and East Hatley.

The Conservatives gained The Mordens from the Lib Dems by a margin of just five votes.

Most Read

Melbourn ward now consists of Melbourn, Meldreth, Shepreth and Whaddon – and Liberal Democrat Jose Hales and former Meldreth district councillor Philippa Hart retained seats on the council by claiming victory there.

Great Chishill, Heydon and Little Chishill have become part of Foxton ward. along with Foxton and Fowlmere – and this seat was retained by independent councillor Deborah Roberts.

The Conservatives’ Peter Topping did retain Whittlesford ward – which includes Thriplow and Heathfield.

The results for our villages are as follows:


• John Harper, Lab – 86

• Michael King, Green – 26

• Simon Parrish, Con – 516

• Aidan Van De Weyer, Lib Dem – 591 (ELECTED)

Turnout 46.57 per cent


• Nigel Cathcart, Lab – 583 (ELECTED)

• David McCraith, Con – 393

• Simon Saggers, Green – 143

Turnout: 38.56 per cent


• Stephen Edwards, Con – 516

• Peter McDonald, Lib Dem – 615 (ELECTED)

• Jackie Scott, Lab – 110

Turnout 45.66 per cent


• Barbara Kettel, Con – 445

• Angela Patrick, Lab – 127

• Deborah Roberts, Ind – 630 (ELECTED)

• Giles Sanders, Lib Dem – 138

Turnout: 50.81 per cent


• Irene Bloomfield, Con – 747

• Beverley Cottrell, Lab – 280

• Paul Evans, Green – 143

• Jose Hales, Lib Dem – 1306 (ELECTED)

• Philippa Hart, Lib Dem – 1272 (ELECTED)

• Mike Linnette, Con – 708

• Turlough Stone, Lab – 200

Turnout 39.58 per cent

The Mordens:

• Sebastian Kindersley, Lib Dem – 598

• Alix Valentine, Lab – 87

• Heather Williams, Con – 603 (ELECTED)

Turnout: 47.51 per cent


• Philippa McGarry, Lab – 180

• Caitrona Quigley, Lib Dems – 164

• Peter Topping, Con – 714 (ELECTED)

• Linda Whitebread, Green – 70

Turnout: 42.74 per cent