Nominations open for annual Living Sport Sports Awards

Living Sport logo

Living Sport logo - Credit: Archant

The nomination process for the annual Living Sport Sports Awards is now open and closes on Friday September 30.

The awards aim to recognise and celebrate the achievements of talented sportsmen and women, coaches, volunteers, organisations and clubs from across Cambridgeshire and Peterborough.

Individuals and organisations can now be nominated by the public for one or more of the 14 categories which include sports performer of the year, community volunteer of the year and workplace of the year.

The ceremony will take place on Thursday November 23 at Burgess Hall in St Ives.

Shortlisted nominees in each of the categories will receive two free tickets to the awards ceremony.

Sports performer of the year was won by England hockey player Hannah MacLeod and disabled sports person was Jonnie Peacock, both Rio 2016 stars. Jonnie Peacock also has his own award which recognises someone who has gone above and beyond to make a difference while overcoming personal adversity – which was won by Samantha Isaacson.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter