Nostalgic throwback to places and faces of Ely's past

Ely High School 1923/24

Ely High School 1923/24 - Credit: DAVID PETTIT

Take a step back in time and discover some of the faces and places of Ely's past. 

April 28th 1911

April 28, 1911: Damage estimated at £2,000 was done at a fire, which broke out on the farm owned by Mr. T. Jacobs, Stretham, near Ely on Saturday. Shortly after 12 o'clock, the servant who was left in charge of the house during the absence of Mr, And Mrs. Jacobs, at Cambridge, looked across the yard and saw smoke issuing from the first barn. - Credit: MIKE PETTY

Each week, we will be delving into the archives of the Ely Cambridgeshire Old Photos Pictures Local History Facebook group to unearth archive photos from the last century. 

April 30 1937

April 30 1937: During the peak of the floods, the river in Littleport rose to such an extent that several layers of sandbags were laid along Lynn Road to keep the water in. But a crowd of 250 people in a ‘rough temper’ had started to remove them. They claimed the bags had caused their houses to be flooded out and they didn’t see why others shouldn’t be flooded as well. - Credit: MIKE PETTY

Described as "a place to store and share all old photos of Ely", the group "accepts anything that may be of interest to others.

April 30 1965

April 30 1965: a 500-lb practice bomb capable of destruction of radius of 1,000 yards was safely defused by an R.A.F. bomb disposal team. The bomb was pulled out of the Old West River near Aldreth by a dredger - Credit: MIKE PETTY

"Ideal for local history groups and schools."  

April 30 1962

April 30 1962: The Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament’s mock funeral march through the centre of Cambridge caused traffic congestion, provoked an anti-CND march and met with a noisy reception from undergraduates in the Market Square. - Credit: MIKE PETTY / FENLAND HISTORY

All images are credited to individual members of the Ely Cambridgeshire Old Photos Pictures Local History Facebook group.

Albert (Taff) Lovesey (right) with Ron Jordan with a Bedford Dray at Ely Brewery

Albert (Taff) Lovesey (right) with Ron Jordan with a Bedford Dray at Ely Brewery - Credit: VICKY SIZER

Join the page - which has thousands of members - online

1926/7 Needhams School photo

Needhams School photo. The school was on Back Hill with the playground across the road. The approximate year was 1926/7 - Credit: MIKE HARVEY

Ely High School 1923/24

Ely High School 1923/24 - Credit: DAVID PETTIT

South Carolina’s line dancing group, which took place at Ely’s Trinity Hall.

South Carolina’s line dancing group, which took place at Ely’s Trinity Hall. - Credit: MARY NEAL

Little Downham Cricket Club 1950s

Little Downham Cricket Club 1950s - Credit: Pauline Bedingfield McCamant


Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter