Ely author publishes his tenth book and it is called an edge of seat drama set in ancient Rome

PUBLISHED: 18:22 21 February 2018

Ely author Harry Sidebottom

Ely author Harry Sidebottom

Archant

An Ely author is publishing his 10th novel which he will unveil at a city bookshop next month.

Harry Sidebottom’s new novel is called The Last Hour, a tale set in ancient Rome.

He said: “It is a fast paced thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout and is the perfect read for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.”

Cambridge scholar Mary Beard said: ‘Harry Sidebottom’s epic tale starts with a chilling assassination and goes on, and up, from there.”

One reviewer said that historical novelists are the gatekeepers of history and it is vital readers can trust them to get the history right, adding it is the authentic detail that sets Harry Sidebottom apart.

Harry’s first book, Ancient Warfare: A Very Short Introduction, was published in 2004 to critical acclaim and he has published numerous chapters in books, as well as articles and reviews in scholarly journals.

His foray into fiction began with Fire in the East, the first of his six-novel ‘Warrior of Rome’ series, which has sold more than half a million copies worldwide.

His next series, Throne of the Caesars, was equally acclaimed. The Last Hour, his tenth novel, introduces readers again to Marcus Clodius Ballista, hero of the ‘Warrior of Rome’ books.

• Topping’s Bookshops, Ely hosts the book launch on Thursday March 8 from 7.10pm.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Ely Standard

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists