Saturday, December 29, 2018

Gregory Hazel is a talent to be reckoned with - his act at The Maltings in Ely as Vivien de Vil was most entertaining and informative.

Read more
Friday, December 28, 2018

A Christmas concert in Ely Cathedral is a wonderful experience that few other places can match.

Read more
Edmund Aldhouse
Monday, December 17, 2018

If ever we needed cheering up, it is at this time of year when it is dark at 4 o'clock in the afternoon, wind and rain is likely to liven up the cold day and everyone is hectic because Christmas or the New Year is coming.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Ely Consort is a name to be reckoned with. This must be one of the best choirs in the district.

Read more
Russia
Sunday, November 25, 2018

It is no wonder G4's Christmas concert in Ely Cathedral last Tuesday was a sell out.

Read more
Monday, October 29, 2018

If ever there was a performance that demonstrated beyond a doubt that live theatre outshines films, it was this one.

Read more
Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Ely Choral Society, clarinet soloist Koren Wilmer, baritone soloist Jonathan Midgley, organist Edmund Aldhouse and conductor/accompanist Andrew Parnell gave a splendid concert in Ely Cathedral on Saturday.

Read more
Edmund Aldhouse
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

The Medlock Ensemble gave a splendid concert in aid of Camtrust at All Saint's Church in Cottenham on Sunday October 7.

Read more
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Other than on the small TV screen, I had never seen a film of a concert on such a grand scale before.

Read more
Monday, August 20, 2018

It has recently been reported that the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Clinical Commissioning Group's Governing Body has decided that it would consult us about its idea to cut the number of inpatient beds in hospital for people with learning disabilities.

Read more
Monday, July 23, 2018

It has been reported that a large number of children are being prescribed anti-depressants and that many of them do not need them.

Read more
Friday, July 20, 2018

Clare Hammond's piano recital was no ordinary event. A varied and in many cases a highly demanding programme kept the listeners in awe.

Read more
BBC
Monday, July 16, 2018

At the moment, bureaucracy appears to rule and ruin our lives. While some form-filling is needed, the pages and pages of information required is getting ridiculous.

Read more
Friday, July 13, 2018

KD Theatre's production of 'We will Rock You' certainly 'rocked'.

Read more
Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Ely Cathedral was a magnificent setting for the 'A Celebration of Peace' to commemorate the end of WW1.

Read more
Edmund Aldhouse
Monday, July 9, 2018

This must be one of Ely Choral Society's most interesting concerts.

Read more
Monday, July 2, 2018

Are we customers or slaves? In the good old days, we went into shops, asked for something and the shop assistant would get what we wanted and sell it to us or would order it if they did not have it in stock. Nothing was too much trouble.

Read more
Monday, July 2, 2018

Wow! What a production! The stage positively throbbed with energy, colour and pizzazz in Viva's production of Grease in Soham.

Read more

Most read stories

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Ely Standard e-edition E-edition
Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Ely Standard weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy