Friday, September 25, 2020

World-beating surgery will be featured in an award-winning BBC documentary about the work of surgical teams at the Royal Papworth and Addenbrooke’s hospitals.

Read more
Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Air ambulance Magpas is facing a formal restriction on night-time flights in its helicopter if it gets the go-ahead to open a new base at Alconbury Weald.

Read more
Thursday, July 23, 2020

The £1.5 billion upgrade of the A14 is playing a “crucial role” in the nation’s economic recovery from the effects of the coronavirus pandemic, Highways England has said.

Read more
Huntingdon
Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Specialists from Public Health England are providing expert advice to major Alconbury Weald-based flower and fruit suppliers AM Fresh UK and MM Flowers after a coronavirus outbreak.

Read more
Thursday, June 18, 2020

Inquests have been opened into the deaths of three generations of the same family who died when their car plunged into a water-filled ditch near Ramsey.

Read more
St Neots
Wednesday, June 17, 2020

People planning to go to London at the weekend from local stations have been advised not to travel by train because of major disruption caused by work on a £1.2 billion upgrade to the line.

Read more
Huntingdon
Monday, June 15, 2020

Work has restarted on the £1.5 billion A14 upgrade after a temporary halt caused when a member of the team was diagnosed with Covid-19.

Read more
Huntingdon
Thursday, June 11, 2020

Animal charity Wood Green says it has been “stretched to the limit” by the challenges it has had to face in dealing with coronavirus.

Read more
Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Closing the furlough scheme to new applicants at the end of the month is premature and could undermine work to save firms and jobs, a business leader has said.

Read more
Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Hopes that the RAF’s world-leading Red Arrows aerobatic display team would become a regular sight in the skies north of Huntingdonshire have been dashed.

Read more
Tuesday, May 19, 2020

A dumped election candidate has been awarded nearly £600 in expenses after successfully taking the Brexit Party to court.

Read more
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Employers must abide by health and safety regulations for workers when businesses begin to restart as the coronavirus crisis recedes, the boss of Cambridgeshire Chambers of Commerce has said.

Read more
Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Britain’s biggest road-building project - the £1.5 billion A14 upgrade - is officially opening eight months early, Highways England has announced.

Read more
Monday, April 20, 2020

Animal charity Wood Green is facing a “huge range of challenges” as it tries to look after nearly 300 animals as well as providing care for stray and unwanted pets and giving support to troubled owners.

Read more
Wednesday, April 1, 2020

It is now all but beyond living memory - but a century ago our ancestors were battling a flu pandemic which is now regarded as the most severe in recent history.

Read more
Tuesday, March 31, 2020

The message, when it came from the NHS was something I had expected, but what I had not anticipated was its brevity, just six short sentences telling me that I was effectively subject to a benign form of house arrest.

Read more
Thursday, March 26, 2020

An elderly inmate at Littlehey prison near St Neots is believed to be the first in Britain to die after contracting the coronavirus.

Read more
Friday, March 20, 2020

The £1.5 billion upgrade of the A14 is still expected to be completed by this spring, despite the Coronavirus pandemic.

Read more
Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Cinema giant Cineworld is pulling the curtain down on shows as a precaution against the Coronavirus.

Read more
Thursday, February 6, 2020

The opening of the £1.5 billion upgrade to the A14 will take place this spring - more than six months ahead of schedule.

Read more
Friday, November 22, 2019

A dumped former Brexit Party candidate is set to take the party to court over a £600 bill for money he spent preparing to contest a seat in the forthcoming general election.

Read more
St Ives

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Ely Standard e-edition E-edition