Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Da Five Bloods sees four African American war veterans return to Vietnam on a quest to find the remains of their fallen squad leader, and the gold fortune he helped them hide.

Read more
Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Can you murder someone on a Skye call? Tune in to Cambridge radio station Cam FM to find out

Read more
Saturday, June 6, 2020

“I want four black men to be able to walk down the street without people thinking they have stolen something.”

Read more
Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Cambridge students in isolation have produced a comedy show of sketches called Monolaughs. This will go out on Saturday, May 9 at 7pm on the ADC YouTube channel for free

Read more
Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Now the theatres have gone dark The National Theatre is You-Tubing some of its best loved shows. Each one will be available for a week. Get the best seats in the house, on Thursday nights from 7pm.

Read more
Monday, March 16, 2020

Remaining events of Cambridge Science Festival are cancelled

Read more
Wednesday, March 11, 2020

It’s described as a thriller but it’s more of a sigh than a scream

Read more
Tuesday, March 3, 2020

A dancer said at the post-show gathering they could feel the energy and enthusiasm coming back to them from the audience.

Read more
Saturday, February 29, 2020

This is a chance to hear the marimba played by one of Britain’s best young players.

Read more
Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Band of Gold was a big television hit in the 1990s, watched by 15 million viewers. Rolling out the same characters in tired old story lines 25 years on cannot have the same magnetism.

Read more
Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Museums in Cambridge are are jointly organising an evening of free activities for families called Twilight at the Museums.

Read more
Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Who is the mysterious wife who never leaves the house? Pirandello gives us one version of the story - and then the opposite.

Read more
Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Director, Sally Cookson said: “I read the book in one hit. I thought I would kill for the opportunity to make this story into a piece of theatre.”

Read more
Tuesday, February 4, 2020

God of Carnage by Yasina Reza, is an attack on the pretentiousness of the bourgeoisie.

Read more
Thursday, January 30, 2020

I bet they argued in the tavern about it in 1603 when it opened. It could have been called Iago because he, the villain of the piece, is the ringmaster. And his weapon is violence against women.

Read more
Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Run by the University of Cambridge, the festival examines our past and suggests the future. Some of the world’s greatest scientists, and some up and coming ones, examine how science is changing the world.

Read more
Thursday, January 23, 2020

A heart-breakingly young prostitute in Bradford who approached a married couple in their car, was the inspiration behind the Granada Television series, Band of Gold, now on stage at Cambridge Arts Theatre next month.

Read more
Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Helen George hits just the right note in My Cousin Rachel to leave us wondering at the end whether she was, after all, a wronged woman.

Read more
Thursday, January 2, 2020

Helen George (Trixie in Call the Midwife) takes to the stage at Cambridge Arts Theatre as Rachel in Daphne du Maurier’s My Cousin Rachel.

Read more
Friday, December 13, 2019

The youngsters didn’t have to be asked. As the action went on, they were so engaged with the story, they were standing up in their seats, pointing and calling out helpful instructions to the cast.

Read more
Tuesday, November 26, 2019

When he got through the audition to appear on the television talent show New Faces - his biggest fear was how to tell his mum he had bunked off school

Read more
Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Our top tips for the best shows around this Christmas

Read more
Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Wayne Sleep and Liza Goddard lead in Cinderella with West End stars

Read more
Monday, November 18, 2019

This is a clever piece of theatre, Lindsay shows the twists and turns of Cardiff’s mind. With immaculate comic timing and verve, this is a towering performance.

Read more
Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Classical Latin ‘literature’ was in its day a treat for the ear. Even those who were rich enough to learn to read would hear the poems of Virgil and Ovid read aloud.

Read more
Wednesday, November 6, 2019

The Black Voices Quintet present The Soul of Nina Simone. They have performed in front of Nelson Mandela at Royal Albert Hall and played alongside Nina Simone herself, as well as Miriam Makeba, Ray Charles and Hugh Masekela.

Read more
Tuesday, November 5, 2019

A 14-year-old girl is on her way home from school on a winter evening as it is getting dark. A neighbour stops her and invites her to see the underground den he has built. He is evil. She will not leave that place alive.

Read more
Tuesday, October 29, 2019

The stand-out performance is from Joe Thomas as father-to-be Vincent. He has the most to do. His is perfect comic timing but he is by no means alone. All five of the cast had the audience laughing throughout and this is very much an ensemble piece - they spark off each other.

Read more

Most read stories

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Ely Standard e-edition E-edition