Yesterday, 15:42

The 1094 City of Ely air cadets had a surprise last night (January 18) at an annual awards evening.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Friday, January 12, 2018

The Mayor of Ely Councillor Richard Hobbs was on hand to open the newly designed and refurbished branch of Santander in Ely on Tuesday.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Monday, December 18, 2017

Veteran band member Malcolm Fletcher says he got “the surprise of my life” when he was presented with the Freedom of the City of Ely during a Christmas concert at the Ely Community College hall.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Friday, December 8, 2017

Queen Adelaide Village Hall was the venue for a Christmas craft market on Sunday December 3.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Tuesday, December 5, 2017

There was a warm welcome from the Mayor of Ely, Councillor Richard Hobbs, for the Military Wives Choirs on their visit to Ely Cathedral last week.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Saturday, December 2, 2017

Ely did the light fantastic last night – and thousands turned out to watch and enjoy the excitement.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Monday, November 20, 2017

Villagers have unveiled a new sign in Queen Adelaide thanks to local craftsmen.

Read more
Adelaide
Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Social media criticism of Ely Fireworks display being held on Armistice Day was dismissed by the mayor of Ely, Richard Hobbs.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Monday, November 13, 2017

Commuters will benefit from a new 128-space car park near Ely train station which was opened to residents today.

Read more
Angel Drove
Monday, November 6, 2017

Ely gets a new car park from Monday – with space for 128 vehicles – and ideally placed for commuters heading to London from the rail station.

Read more
Bill Hunt
Thursday, November 2, 2017

A night time swan feeding session at Welney was joined by a special guest - the daughter of Sir Peter Scott, founder of the Widlfowl and Wetlands Trust charity.

Read more
Tracey Harding
Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Members of Ely and District Table Tennis Club are celebrating having been awarded £9,600 from Sports England to develop sport in Ely – as well as being given a new base at Witchford VC Sports Hall.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Tuesday, October 31, 2017

People are invited to a community think tank to give their views on how to improve Ely city centre.

Read more
Tracey Harding
Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Mayors from across the area – and heads of local councils- were among the guests for a civic service in Ely.

Read more
Ian Lindsay
Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Ely residents of all ages came together on Sunday to help clean up the litter in Ely city centre accompanied by Richard Hobbs, Mayor of Ely.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Magnificent heavy horses were a major attraction for thousands of visitors at Prickwillow Ploughing Festival.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Friday, September 29, 2017

The thrilling Ely Potato Race is nearly under starter’s orders – with the team behind the event celebrating its sixth year.

Read more
Lucy Frazer
Tuesday, September 12, 2017

The City of Ely Allotments Association held its annual awards evening on Monday September 4 at Centre E in Barton Road.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Sunday, August 20, 2017

The floral fanatics behind the display at Fairfax Court in Ely are celebrating after the outdoor space scooped the overall winners award at Ely in Bloom for the second consecutive year.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

ADeC has taken onboard the Mayor of Ely Councillor Richard Hobbs’ wish for Ely to become a dementia-friendly city and has offered a chance for sufferers and their carers to see a film: ‘Dad’s Army’.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Friday, July 21, 2017

Fun entertainment and games drew a huge crowd to the first Spring Meadow Infant & Nursery and St Mary’s Junior school’s summer fayre, which was opened by the Mayor of Ely Councillor Richard Hobbs.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Monday, July 17, 2017

The sun and crowds came out for the annual service and parade on Sunday at Ely Cathedral for the Royal Anglian Regiment Association Cambridgeshire.

Read more
Jason Ablewhite
Friday, March 24, 2017

Thousands of people are set to flock to Ely next month for its annual Eel Festival.

Read more
Oliver Cromwell
Monday, February 20, 2017

An arson attack which caused ‘£100,000s’ worth of damage has been blamed for the closure of Mepal Outdoor Centre.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Tuesday, February 14, 2017

The community in Ely came together for the dedication service of the East of England Co-op Funeral Services’ Chapel of Rest on Prickwillow Road last week.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Thursday, February 2, 2017

Work has begun on new £13.6 million leisure centre for East Cambridgeshire, which is set to open to the public next year.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Oliver Cromwell’s House is going to take a step back in time with its first ever historical fayre.

Read more
Oliver Cromwell

Most read stories

Most commented stories

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Ely Standard e-edition E-edition
HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter