Yesterday, 14:10

A performance of “grace and truth” was reflected by The Lantern Dance Theatre Company as they took the spotlight at Ely Cathedral’s Lady Chapel.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Mon, 12:25

This year’s Ely Monster Races saw 450 competitors set off for a swim along the River Ouse and back before cycling and running to the finish line.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, August 13, 2018

A survey has been launched by council bosses to understand “challenges” that businesses face in Ely city centre amid claims of high rents and less shoppers.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Sunday, August 12, 2018

It was a day when a headline grabbing cleric was put in his place, historic Ely Cathedral flew the LGBT Pride flag, and a city celebrated diversity and the elimination of discrimination on the grounds of sexuality.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Thursday, August 9, 2018

It was a bloomin’ marvellous success for Ely Rail Station as their beautiful floral displays led to them scooping the prize of In Bloom 2018 winners.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Friday, July 27, 2018

A stalwart of the Viva family received a ‘civic farewell’ earlier this month to honour her contribution to the theatre company over many years.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Thursday, July 26, 2018

A group to preserve the history of Ely Cemetery by setting up an archive to help with family history research is one step closer to being created.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Around 150 people attended the Ely-based Thorlabs annual summer party to commend staff for their dedication.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, July 24, 2018

It was the perfect summer afternoon for residents at an Ely care home as celebrations were held for their annual summer fete.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, July 16, 2018

The sun and crowds came out for the annual service and parade at Ely Cathedral for the Royal Anglian Regiment Association Cambridgeshire.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, July 2, 2018

Thousands lined the Ely riverside yesterday (Sunday July 1) as Aquafest - one of the city’s biggest events - returned for its 40th year.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Friday, June 29, 2018

Visitors to Ely may spot a new landmark on the city’s horizon – a vast, new state-of-the-art storage facility for hundreds of thousands of books belonging to Cambridge University Library and other university collections.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Thursday, June 28, 2018

Inspirational, hardworking, caring and loyal – just some of the words that were used to describe our award-winning heroes of 2018.

Read more
John Elworthy
Friday, June 22, 2018

The Mayor of Ely, Councillor Mike Rouse, welcomed guests from Denmark to the city as part of a collaboration project that’s been running since the 1950s.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Thursday, June 21, 2018

Tackling knife crime and youth violence was on the agenda when seven members of the Cambridgeshire Youth Consultation Panel visited the House of Commons.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, June 18, 2018

A new living complex has been officially launched with the help of the Mayor of Ely, Councillor Mike Rouse, who joined local retirees for the grand opening.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Thursday, June 14, 2018

Ely Museum held a pop-up exhibition with Oxford Archaeology on Saturday (June 9) showcasing finds from a recent excavation in the city.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, May 29, 2018

An annual community gathering was held by the Ely Muslim Association to break their fast during the holy month of Ramadan.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Soham came out to play today – brilliant weather, enthusiastic crowds and packaged together in a superb all embracing family day out.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, April 9, 2018

After packing The Maltings with a handful of performances at the weekend, KD Productions presented a cheque for £300 to the Mayor of Ely’s charity.

Read more
Richard Hobbs
Monday, March 26, 2018

East Cambs Council has decided to weaken a suggestion that the view of Ely Cathedral was a vital element in opposing a £200 million energy-from-waste plant at Waterbeach.

Read more
Bill Hunt
Sunday, March 25, 2018

Councillors were told Healey Investments “are straining at the leash” to begin phase one of a £55 million office and retail development in the city that could create up to 835 jobs,

Read more
Angel Drove
Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Upcoming writer Sylvie Short will be a new speaker at the Writers’ Day this Saturday, March 24, from 10am to 3pm in St Andrew’s Church Hall, Witchford.

Read more
Rosemary Westwell
Friday, March 16, 2018

An insightful evening with historian and local councillor Mike Rouse was held at Oliver Cromwell’s House in Ely.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Thursday, December 28, 2017

Highways issue have held up proposals for up to 680 homes north of Grange Lane, Littleport.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, December 11, 2017

People all around the Fens woke up on Sunday (December 10) to what looked to be a scene from a Christmas film - here’s what Fenland photographers captured from Ely’s snow day.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Friday, October 27, 2017

Children, parents and volunteers all got stuck in at the sorcerers and spells crafts morning at Ely Museum yesterday. (October 26)

Read more
Mike Rouse
Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Mayors from across the area – and heads of local councils- were among the guests for a civic service in Ely.

Read more
Ian Lindsay
Monday, October 16, 2017

Running through the streets carrying a bag of potatoes on your shoulders may seem strange to many – but in Ely it happens every October.

Read more
Mike Rouse
Monday, October 2, 2017

The Sing n Swing choir from Denmark joined Kathryn Rowland’s Ely-based Sing choir for a concert and workshop on Saturday.

Read more
Mike Rouse

Most read stories

Most commented stories

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Ely Standard e-edition E-edition

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Ely Standard weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy