Mon, 12:46

These fantastic images show a B-52 Stratofortress being refuelled over the North Sea by a KC-135 tanker from RAF Mildenhall.

Read more
United Kingdom
Friday, January 5, 2018

Mayor James Palmer has called for Corporation Tax to be slashed to 10 per cent to enable Cambridgeshire and Peterborough to attract investment.

Read more
James Palmer
Thursday, January 4, 2018

An arboretum, lake, visitor centre, shops, café, and conference centre have been approved for the Barcham Trees site that will sprawl across 17 acres, provide an extra 25 job and attract tens of thousands of visitors annually. John Elworthy

Read more
Soham Town Council
Wednesday, January 3, 2018

A championship winner from Ely is gearing up to make his return to the British GT Championship in 2018.

Read more
Belgium
Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Ely commuters have returned to work sour-faced this morning after finding out their season ticket to London has increased - topping the £5,000 barrier.

Read more
Labor
Thursday, December 28, 2017

The Cambridge University European Theatre Group returns to the ADC Theatre in Cambridge from Tuesday 16 to Saturday 20 January.

Read more
Cambridge University
Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Swan counts have revealed that numbers of Bewick’s swans are very low for this point in the season at WWT Welney Wetland Centre.

Read more
United Kingdom
Monday, December 11, 2017

Whilst most of Cambridgeshire got its first taste of snow at the weekend, our reporter Ben Jolley was enjoying more of it than most care to experience.

Read more
Ben Jolley
Monday, November 20, 2017

The Soham World War One Centenary Commemoration Committee has been recognised for its contribution to local history.

Read more
Mike Petty
Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Emmaus Cambridge, based in Landbeach, will send a 40ft shipping container with 250 boxes of household items worth around £10,000 to the Romanian Emmaus community based in Satu Mare today, Wednesday November 15.

Read more
Europe
Tuesday, November 7, 2017

The countdown to one of Norfolk’s most anticipated events is almost over as Thursford prepares for the opening of the famous Christmas Spectacular this week.

Read more
Europe
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Mesh implants are the third major medical device disaster in the last decade, a bioengineer has warned, as campaigners wept on hearing that the growing controversy is to be debated in Parliament.

Read more
MHRA
Wednesday, September 20, 2017

An Ely student-turned-DJ has been crowned as the region’s best urban and electronic act at this year’s New Music Generator (NMG) Awards.

Read more
Europe
Friday, August 25, 2017

The latest agricultural sale at Cheffins has grossed the highest takings in two years and has seen a range of machinery go to new homes in UK, Europe and Sri Lanka.

Read more
Volvo
Tuesday, August 22, 2017

A gruelling event saw budding athletes from across the region converge on Ely to take part in Monster racing.

Read more
United Kingdom
Sunday, August 13, 2017

A Bronze Age torc - one of the largest found in Britain and unearthed by metal detectorists in a Fordham field – is to go on show to the public after Ely Museum raised £220,000 to buy it.

Read more
United Kingdom
Friday, August 4, 2017

A petition to speed up improvements to the A10 from Ely into Cambridge has been launched.

Read more
Lucy Frazer
Wednesday, August 2, 2017

The Ely Standard Business Awards is undoubtedly one of the nights of the year for the region’s businesses, celebrating innovation, customer engagement and success.

Read more
NHS
Thursday, July 27, 2017

Intrepid King’s Ely students reached new heights during an expedition in northern Spain.

Read more
Spain
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Lords and peasants mingled at Ely museum when there was a living history day with a re-enactment group.

Read more
United Kingdom
Friday, July 21, 2017

Ely Museum has been given a £150,000 grant towards the purchase of the East Cambridgeshire Gold Torc, which was unearthed by a novice metal detector in Fordham.

Read more
United Kingdom
Thursday, June 1, 2017

Cambridgeshire’s first-ever Yoga and Vegan Festival is coming to The Paradise Centre in Ely on Sunday June 11.

Read more
United Kingdom
Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Around 10,000 cyclists are expected to descend on Cambridgeshire for the first of its kind in a massive cycling event with a chance to qualify for world finals.

Read more
Cambridgeshire County Council
Friday, May 19, 2017

Reginald D. Hunter will bring his ‘Some People v Reginald D. Hunter’ tour to the Cambridge Corn Exchange on Sunday May 28.

Read more
Ireland
Thursday, May 11, 2017

It prides itself on being Europe’s largest tree specialist and Barcham near Ely is now considering a massive expansion of its visitor offering with an arboretum, 125 cover restaurant, shops, a lake and conference facilities.

Read more
Europe
Tuesday, April 25, 2017

More than 4,000 vintage vehicle enthusiasts from around the world helped make Cheffins’ latest auction in Sutton a record breaking event.

Read more
Ireland
Saturday, April 22, 2017

Developers are planning to capture and relocate a number of Great Crested Newts so that 60 houses can be built on land east of Sutton.

Read more
United Kingdom
Wednesday, April 19, 2017

A black bee fly has been seen for the firs time in the UK in a garden in Cambridgehshire.

Read more
United Kingdom
Tuesday, April 18, 2017

The decision to close down the Suffolk US Air Force base is being looked at again by EU Command.

Read more
Syria
Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Theresa May has called a snap election for June 8 following a surprise announcement outside Downing Street.

Read more
Jeremy Corbyn

Most read stories

Most commented stories

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Ely Standard e-edition E-edition
HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter