Ely author publishes his tenth book and it is called an edge of seat drama set in ancient Rome

PUBLISHED: 18:22 21 February 2018

Ely author Harry Sidebottom

Ely author Harry Sidebottom


An Ely author is publishing his 10th novel which he will unveil at a city bookshop next month.

Harry Sidebottom’s new novel is called The Last Hour, a tale set in ancient Rome.

He said: “It is a fast paced thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout and is the perfect read for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.”

Cambridge scholar Mary Beard said: ‘Harry Sidebottom’s epic tale starts with a chilling assassination and goes on, and up, from there.”

One reviewer said that historical novelists are the gatekeepers of history and it is vital readers can trust them to get the history right, adding it is the authentic detail that sets Harry Sidebottom apart.

Harry’s first book, Ancient Warfare: A Very Short Introduction, was published in 2004 to critical acclaim and he has published numerous chapters in books, as well as articles and reviews in scholarly journals.

His foray into fiction began with Fire in the East, the first of his six-novel ‘Warrior of Rome’ series, which has sold more than half a million copies worldwide.

His next series, Throne of the Caesars, was equally acclaimed. The Last Hour, his tenth novel, introduces readers again to Marcus Clodius Ballista, hero of the ‘Warrior of Rome’ books.

• Topping’s Bookshops, Ely hosts the book launch on Thursday March 8 from 7.10pm.


Welcome , please leave your message below.

Optional - JPG files only
Optional - MP3 files only
Optional - 3GP, AVI, MOV, MPG or WMV files

Please log in to leave a comment and share your views with other Ely Standard visitors.

We enable people to post comments with the aim of encouraging open debate.

Only people who register and sign up to our terms and conditions can post comments. These terms and conditions explain our house rules and legal guidelines.

Comments are not edited by Ely Standard staff prior to publication but may be automatically filtered.

If you have a complaint about a comment please contact us by clicking on the Report This Comment button next to the comment.

Not a member yet?

Register to create your own unique Ely Standard account for free.

Signing up is free, quick and easy and offers you the chance to add comments, personalise the site with local information picked just for you, and more.

Sign up now

More news stories


Two performers with extraordinary life stories – including one from Littleport – will perform in Chatteris and Ely in May.

Yesterday, 22:13

A fibre glass full size replica of a black and white Fresian cow – thought to be worth around £1,000 and described as a ‘local icon’ – was stolen from a Fenland garden.

Yesterday, 21:30

Ely is to double the number of market days from three a week to six.

Fri, 14:21

The St John Passion: the harpsichord was ancient, its organ hadn’t been serviced for more than three decades and the overhead choir stall was so unstable that there was a real danger it would crash to the floor.

Most read stories

Digital Edition

Read the Ely Standard e-edition E-edition

Show Job Lists

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter